10 48 portlawLocation: NE corner of Summit and Monroe Streets, Toledo

Locate on Google Map

Google Street View

Text: This pioneer village, which was united with its downriver rival, Vistula, to be incorporated as Toledo in 1837, was platted by Cincinnati businessmen in 1817. The "Panic" of 1819 caused the enterprise to default. The village was re-platted in 1832. A two-story log warehouse along Swan Creek was the first important structure. The village was named for Captain James Lawrence, War of 1812 naval hero.

 

Image Source: Remarkable Ohio, Port Lawrence (10-48)

 

 

10 48 ftindustry

 

On the site, July 4, 1805, a treaty was concluded with the chiefs of the Ottawa, Chippewa, Pottawatomie, Shawnee, Muncie, and Delaware tribes. The Indians ceded their title to over 2.7 million acres in the Firelands, now Erie and Huron counties, and the Connecticut Western Reserve. Little else is known about "Fort Industry", which appears as a symbolic blockhouse on Toledo’s official seal and flag.

 

Image Source: Remarkable Ohio, Fort Industry (10-48)

 

 

 

 


  Google Street View: Explore the historic surrounds of the marker in any direction you like


contentmap_plugin

Toledo's Attic and all contents herein are to be used for educational and scholarly purposes. U.S. and international copyright laws protect digital contents in this collection. Commercial use or distribution of the image is not permitted without prior permission of the copyright holder. Toledo's Attic by www.toledosattic.org is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 Unported License. Permissions beyond the scope of this license may be available at www.toledosattic.org.